It's very likely that a few people have themselves blocked you, but how would you know? WhatsApp doesn't inform you whether you've been blocked, unlike blocking on social media platforms like Twitter, keeping you in the dark. Even while there isn't a list you can check to be sure, there are a few techniques to determine whether a certain person has blocked you.
These are them:
You Can’t See Any Changes to Their Profile Picture or Status
It can be difficult to verify this, but once you are blocked on WhatsApp, you are no longer updated by the blocker's profile image or status. Of course, if the person you suspect of banning you frequently updates their status or profile image, then this is only truly a good indicator. If it deviates from their regular behaviour, it may indicate that you have been blocked or just indicate that they haven't updated anything in a while.
However, that's essentially the only way you're going to be able to tell from this method. If you know someone else who uses the blocker's WhatsApp, then you may ask them if their profile picture or status has changed.
You Can’t See When They Were Last Online
The "last seen" feature of WhatsApp is one of its most well-liked elements. In essence, it's merely a ticker that displays the user's most recent activity, but if it disappears, it can be a sign that you've been blocked. Because blocking someone prevents them from knowing when you're online.
Though there is a way to disable this function, this technique is not completely foolproof. Even if you are not blocked, it stops showing if disabled. While being blocked will prevent you from ever seeing someone's most recent online status, it may also just mean that you are blocked by default.
Messages Aren’t Delivered, and Calls Fail
Although it should go without saying, you cannot call or send messages to someone who has blocked you. There is more to it, though. When you send a message to someone on WhatsApp, a sequence of ticks show the message's delivery status. A message has been sent, but not yet received, according to one tick. Two ticks indicate receipt of the message but not reading. Finally, your read receipt is two blue ticks. If you are blocked, calls that are made will always fail and your message will never advance past the first step.
Similar to the earlier possibilities, this isn't a dead giveaway. Since calls and messages won't get through if the target's phone isn't online or is off, there isn't a clear indication that the target has been banned unless a message goes unread for a long period of time.
You Can’t Add Them to a Chat Group
Finally, you won't be able to join a new group chat with anyone who has blocked you. Existing group conversations will continue to operate normally, but if you try to add someone who has blocked you to a new chat, a message stating that you are not allowed to do so will appear.
Especially when combined with any of the other symptoms mentioned above, this is arguably the sign of a block that is most likely to exist. While it is possible to limit who can add you to groups, if a person has you in their contacts list, you can typically add them to a chat group unless they have clearly stated that you are not permitted to do so.
The most accurate method of determining if you are blocked, however, is also the most challenging to explain to that person if you are not blocked. After all, you have just unintentionally joined that person to a new group chat, which may lead to embarrassing questions.